Central Coast Senators fill leadership positions in Sacramento

Dec 17, 2014

Central Coast Senator Bill Monning is now the California Senate's Majority Leader after an announcement Wednesday by Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León.

Monning's district includes all of San Luis Obispo and Santa Cruz Counties and a portion of Monterey and Santa Clara Counties. The Majority Leader serves as the main floor manager for de León.

Monning says he looks forward to serving in this leadership position.

Meanwhile, State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson will continue as chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee under de León's new leadership. He announced the committee chair appointment as well on Wednesday.

Jackson's district includes all of Santa Barbara County and western Ventura County.