Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Here are the key primary election results from California

Vote California bear graphic_large.jpg

Seven states hold primaries Tuesday: California, Iowa, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico and South Dakota.

In California, there are a number of competitive U.S. House races. Of note: In California, all candidates, regardless of party affiliation, are placed on the same primary ballot, and the top two advance to the general election in November.

Polls in California close at 8 p.m. local time, 11 p.m. ET.

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit