Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

KCBX Election Update: SLO and Santa Barbara Counties release preliminary results for 2022 primary

Randol White/KCBX News

Election night for the June primary is over, and preliminary results from San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara Counties have come in. All results are unofficial until they’re certified, which could happen as late as July.

Preliminary results along with up-to-date vote percentages, turnout rates and other information are available on the counties' respective clerk-recorder websites. The California Secretary of State's website has preliminary results for statewide races, including State Senate and Assembly.

SLO County preliminary results for major races as of 1am Wednesday

One of the major races in SLO County this election season is for the Board of Supervisors seats. After a major redistricting cycle, most SLO County voters are voting in changed districts this year.

Districts 2, 3 and 4 were open this year, and if a candidate secures more than 50% of the vote in this primary, they’re declared the winner. If no candidate reaches 50%, the top two proceed to the November general election.

In District 2, Bruce Gibson is leading with 52.98% of votes, while Bruce Jones follows with 16.77%. Geoff Auslen is close behind Jones at 16.74%.

In District 3, Dawn Ortiz-Legg is leading at 64.9% with Stacy Korsgaden behind her at 31.8%. Although this district changed in the last redistricting cycle, the primary race is based on the old district map from 2010 because it will complete the four-year term of late supervisor Adam Hill.

In District 4, Jimmy Paulding is at 58.3% of votes, ahead of Lynn Compton at 41.7%. This is a unique election, as Compton and Paulding competed for the same seat in 2018, with Compton edging out Paulding by just 60 votes then. Right now, Paulding's lead is by about 1,600 votes. This supervisor race is also the only one in SLO County where an incumbent is not currently in the lead.

As for the SLO County Clerk-Recorder race, Elaino Cano has 66.8% of votes, followed by James Baugh with 18%.

The only SLO County judge seat up for grabs this primary was for the Superior Court Office 12, where Mike Frye is leading with 67.7% of votes and Paul Phillips is behind at 32.3%.

Santa Barbara County preliminary results for major races as of 1a.m. Wednesday

In the race for Santa Barbara County Sheriff, Bill Brown is leading at 56.79% with Juan Camarena behind at 42.96%.

For the County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor race, Joseph Holland is leading significantly with 80.97% of the vote, while Elrawd Maclearn is at 18.80%.

In the race for Santa Barbara County Superintendent of Schools, Susan C. Salcido is leading at 64.06% of the vote while Christy Lozano has received 35.70%.

As for the Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors candidates, both Laura Capps in District 2 and Steve Lavagnino in District 5 ran unopposed and are strongly leading those races. They both have upwards of 95% of votes in their respective districts, with the rest going to write-in candidates.

The county's candidate for District Attorney, John Savrnoch, is also the only one on the ballot for his race and has received 98.95% of the vote.

House of Representatives, State Assembly and statewide office results as of 1a.m. Wednesday

Central Coast voters are generally favoring incumbents in the House of Representatives, State Assembly and statewide offices.

For the District 19 congressional race, Jimmy Panetta is leading the vote at 68.5% while Jeff Gorman is behind at 22.7%.

In the District 24 congressional race, 62.7% of votes have gone to Salud Carbajal, followed by Brad Allen at 29.2%.

In State Assembly District 30, Dawn Addis is leading with 43.7% of votes, while Vicki Nohrden is behind her at 33.2%.

In Assembly District 37, Gregg Hart is leading the vote count at 58.4%, while Mike Stoker is in second at 38%.

At the statewide level, the majority of voters in both SLO and Santa Barbara Counties have chosen incumbents: Governor Gavin Newsom, Secretary of State Shirley Weber, Attorney General Rob Bonta, Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara and U.S. Senator Alex Padilla.

KCBX will be updating results on this article and on the radio as more numbers come in.

Updated: June 8, 2022 at 6:07 AM PDT
This article has been updated to reflect unofficial election night results as of 1a.m. Wednesday morning. It previously listed results as of 10p.m. Tuesday. All updated local results are available at the SLO County and Santa Barbara County Clerk-Recorder's websites, while statewide race results are available at the California Secretary of State's website.
Benjamin Purper came to KCBX in May of 2021 from California’s Inland Empire, where he spent three years as a reporter and Morning Edition host at KVCR in San Bernardino. Dozens of his stories have aired on KQED’s California Report, and his work has broadcast on NPR's news magazines, as well. In addition to radio, Ben has worked as a newspaper reporter and freelance writer.
Related Content